Mayor announces Engaged City Task Force members

December 5, 2012 | Engaged City

Today the City of Vancouver announced the 22 citizens who will serve on the Mayor’s new Engaged City Task Force, who will work to improve the ways the City engages and communicates with citizens.

“Vancouver is a global leader in many ways, and as Mayor I’m committed to ensuring Vancouver shows leadership to become one of the most open and civically engaged cities in the world,” said Mayor Gregor Robertson. “The new Engaged City Task Force draws from a remarkably talented and diverse group of local citizens from all corners of Vancouver, who bring a wealth of experience in community engagement and public consultation.”

The Task Force will work to examine innovative best practices for civic engagement, and seek to make progress on priority issues including improving the way the City communicates with citizens, engages immigrants and youth, consults on policy, increases voter turnout and enables community connection at a neighbourhood level.

The Task Force will commence its work in December and report back to City Council by June 2013. In addition to Mayor Robertson and Councillor Andrea Reimer, the Task Force consists of the following members, selected from 117 applications:

  • Waldo Brino: Vice President of the Vancouver Latin American Cultural Centre, member of the City’s Multicultural Advisory Committee
  • Mark Busse: Host of Creative Mornings Vancouver; past president of the BC Chapter of the Society of Graphic Designers
  • Mary Elisa Campbell: Former Executive Director of Centre for Sustainability at UBC; Past-Chair for Trafalgar Elementary PAC
  • Dennis Chan: Former Chair and current Director of S.U.C.C.E.S.S.
  • Samuel Chen: PhD student at SFU studying transformational change in the Faculty of Education
  • Hanna Cho: Curator of engagement and dialogue, Museum of Vancouver; former Project Manager for Youth Outreach, Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada
  • Catherine Clement: former VP Public Engagement and Communications, Vancouver Foundation
  • Curtis Davey: Volunteer/Operations director for KitsFest
  • Richard Delaney: President of the Canadian Institute for Public Engagement
  • Olive Dempsey: Facilitator and engagement strategist; former communications coordinator with Get Your Vote On
  • Meharoona Ghani: Director of strategic planning, community engagement and outreach at Reel Causes
  • Jennifer Gray-Grant: Executive Director at Renfrew Collingwood Neighbourhood House
  • Peter Greenwell: current Chair of the Vancouver City Planning Commission
  • Trina Isakson: principal of Shift 27, a local consulting firm that specializes in engaging young people; Vice president of the Canadian Women’s Voters Congress.
  • Lizzy Karp: creator of Rain City Chronicles, a fun way for residents - both new and long-standing - to meet and share their stories about Vancouver
  • Colleen McGuinness: current member of the City’s Seniors Advisory Committee, director with the Dunbar Residents Association
  • Lyndsay Poaps: former Vancouver Parks Commissioner; former Communications Specialist with the City of Toronto on public engagement
  • Scott Sheldon: founder of Vancouver Change Camp, which seeks to renew relationships among citizens and government through innovative dialogue approaches and internet tools
  • Marten Sims: design specialist with the Vancouver Design Nerds and Civic Renewal Lab; lecturer at Emily Carr University and Vancouver Film School
  • Paul Taylor: Executive Director of Gordon Neighbourhood House, former Executive Director of the Downtown Eastside Neighbourhood House
  • Julien Thomas: Specialist in arts-based community engagement; facilitator of Late Night Art series and Gather Round and Stick Shift public art projects
  • Tesicca Truong: SFU student in Environmental Science; facilitator for citizenU, an anti-discrimination program for youth